helen@newspaperawards.co.uk | +44 (0) 7970 923760

Nominations announced for newsawards 2017

Posted By :
Comments : Off

6 March 2017 – The shortlist has been announced for newsawards 2017, the only awards that celebrate the best in news media print, digital and business innovation.

Gary Cullum, director of newsawards, says: “Judges were wowed with many fantastic entries, showcasing the very best news media has to offer, not just from the UK and Ireland but from around the world in a number of international categories too.

“It’s great to see how the industry is tackling the many challenges it currently faces with the highest quality news media products and outstanding innovations.”

For the full list of nominations visit https://www.newsawards.co.uk/nominations/ or see below

All the winners will be announced at a black tie gala dinner on 5 April and the London Lancaster.

Contact: Helen Hargreaves on +44 (0) 1869 340351 helen@newspaperawards.co.uk


newsawards 2017 – Nominations

Grand Prix – The Total Package

The Guardian

The New European

The Sun

The Times & The Sunday Times


National Newspaper of the Year

The manroland web systems Premier Award for all national daily newspapers



The Daily Telegraph

The Guardian

The Sun

The Times


Regional Daily Newspaper of the Year

The Aktrion Premier Award for all regional daily newspapers

Eastern Daily Press

Irish News

London Evening Standard

Press & Journal, Aberdeen

The Courier, Dundee

Yorkshire Evening Post

Yorkshire Post


Newspaper Printer of the Year

The Agfa Premier Award for all printers of newspapers printed by flexo or coldest web offset


Regional Newspaper Printer

Archant (EDP, MCN)

Discovery Print (The Courier, The Press & Journal)

Iliffe Print (Cambridge Independent, Jewish Tribune, China Daily)

Mortons Print (Driffield & Wolds Weekly, Teesdale Mercury, Newark Advertiser)

Newbury Weekly News (Newbury Weekly News, Brecon & Radnor Express, Newquay Voice)

Newsprinters Eurocentral (Falkirk Herald, Fife Fress Press)

Portsmouth Web (Metro, Alton Herald, West Briton)


National Newspaper Printer of the Year

Guardian Print Centre (The Guardian, The Observer)

INM Citywest (Irish Independent, Sunday Independent)

Newsprinters Broxbourne (The Daily Telegraph, The Sunday Times)

Newsprinters Knowsley (The Times, The Sunday Telegraph)

St Clements Press (FT)

Trinity Mirror Printing Watford (I, The Mirror)

Westferry Printers ( The Express, The Star)


National Supplement/Magazine of the Year

The Sun Chemical Award

How to Spend It Magazine (Financial Times)

Luxury (The Telegraph)

Telegraph Magazine

The Times Magazine

Ultratravel (The Telegraph)

You Magazine (The Mail on Sunday)


Sunday Newspaper of the Year

for all Sunday newspapers

Sunday Independent, Ireland

Sunday Mirror

The Mail on Sunday

The Sun on Sunday

The Sunday Telegraph

The Sunday Times


Regional Supplement/Magazine of the Year

The Precision Colour Printing Award for all regional newspaper colour supplements or standalone magazines printed any method

Belfast Telegraph Weekend

Bury & West Suffolk Magazine

Cornwall Today

ES Magazine

Havering Resident

Oxfordshire Limited Edition

Swansea Life


Niche Market Newspaper of the Year

For all niche market (special interest) newspapers

Cage & Aviary Birds

First News

Fishing News

Hackney Citizen

Kensington, Chelsea & Westminster Today

Photography News



International Printed Innovation of the Year

The UPM Premier Award for all UK and overseas published newspapers

Aftenposten Junior (Norway)

Big School/What Next Magazine (MNA)

Daily Jang (Pakistan) – Classifieds

Discovery Print/DC Thomson

Kids News (Denmark)

i – You Decide

The New European


Weekly Newspaper of the Year

The WRH Global UK Award for all local weekly newspapers

Brecon & Radnor Express

Cambridge Independent

Hackney Gazette

Newbury News

Newquay Voice

Stratford Herald

The Times of Tunbridge Wells


International Newspaper of the Year

The Resolute Forest Products Premier Award for all international daily and weekly newspapers published overseas

Aftenposten Junior (Norway)

Berlingske (Denmark)

Donaukurier (Germany)

Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntags Zeitung (Germany)

Heilbronner Stimme (Germany)

The Times of Oman

Vorarlberger Nachrichten  (Austria)


News Website of the Year

The Adyoulike Award for all news websites

Belfast Telegraph


The Guardian


The Independent

The Memo

The Telegraph


News App of the Year

The PCS Award for any platform including iPhone, Android and iPad

Berlingske Business

The Guardian

Metro 11v11

The Telegraph

The Times



International Digital Innovation of the Year

for all new media businesses (open to UK & international entries)

China Daily – Bhumika can speak for herself

Daily Jang – Reinventing classifieds

FT – Fastest publisher site worldwide

Google – The AMP project

The Guardian – 6×9 Virtual Reality journalism

Reuters/ONEm – Bringing Reuters News to millions with mobile internet

Telegraph Premium – Specially curated, subscriber-only content and exclusive experiences


Best Use of Advertising Technology

for all suppliers and users of Advertising Technology

AppNexus – PreBid Mobile

Initiative & Cadreon – Geo-targeting technology

MNA – Insight & Enquire proprietary advertising platform

Rubicon Project – Partnership with 1XL publisher co-operative

Teads – InRead native video advertising

The Telegraph – Sticky ad


Commercial Advertising Initiative of the Year

The Newsprinters Award for all news media organisations

The Sun – Popcorn and Sky Cinema

The Telegraph – 100% viewable ad

The Telegraph – Sainsbury’s concertina ad


Brand Partnership of the Year

for all news media organisations

Metro/Sky Atlantic – Game of Thrones

The Sun/Morrisons – The Surprise Party

The Telegraph/Corsodyl – Good Morning

The Telegraph/Kia – UEFA Euro 2016

The Telegraph/Skoda – Life on two wheels

The Times/James Wellbeloved – Reconnect with Nature

Trinity Mirror Solutions/Aldi – Team GB


About the Author