helen@newspaperawards.co.uk | +44 (0) 7970 923760

The Times named National Newspaper of the Year at newsawards 2018 Grand Prix goes to The Sun

Posted By :
Comments : Off

19 April 2018 – National Newspaper of the Year has been awarded to The Times at newsawards 2018. Judges said that The Times “has excelled at coverage of big event news and is a quality brand that keeps on top of publishing and journalistic events”.

newsawards 2018 was hosted by BBC TV news broadcaster, Kate Silverton, at the Royal Lancaster London in front of 500 guests.

In a very strong night for News UK titles, The Grand Prix, which goes to the news media brand that brings together the most cohesive and compelling print-digital-business offering to the market, was awarded to The Sun for the second year running. Judges commented that “The Sun has a clear brand vision, that is then executed superbly across all of its platforms”. Another News UK title, The Sunday Times, won Sunday Newspaper of the Year.

Regional Newspaper of the Year was awarded to The Press and Journal. While the Printer awards went to St Clements Press (National Printer) and, for the second successive year, Mortons Print (Regional Printer).

The FT performed particularly well in the Digital Awards, picking up News Website of the Year and Outstanding Use of Social Media. Taking top spot for the second running the FT’s website was praised for a “customer experience that is seamless and delivered with lightning fast speed.”

Gary Cullum, director of newsawards, says: “Newsbrands at national and local level remain the powerhouse for news provision in the UK, setting agendas, forcing change, holding those in power to account and keeping politicians on their toes; while at the same time entertaining and informing their audiences.

“All the winners and finalists of newsawards 2018 play a fundamental role in delivering to readers and advertisers a highly trusted and relevant medium that drives real action.”

For the full list of winners and nominations visit: www.newsawards.co.uk/winners